thank you (the saddest song)

December 27, 2007 at 5:53 pm (poem)

this is my silver plate
another stage
some pretty screen
invisible
limelight just for you

when I say thank you with a smile
the next thing I sing
is the saddest song
I could never remember until now

this is another vow
a carefully cut-out paper rose
thirsty drinking ink
the signature sealing each letter
the few words we always repeat
’cause they are true

when I say thank you with a smile
the next thing I sing
is the saddest song
I could never remember until now

if I’d make a movie
this is what I would
a kid draw on the windowpane
a deformed device to pump blood
because it means something

when I say thank you with a smile
the next thing I sing
is the saddest song
I could never remember until now

Leave a Reply

